Beef and 3 Bean Chilli… and America!

Good morning!

After a very busy few weeks, I apologise for how long it took me to write another post! I’ve been hanging on my week off with my family and planning my trip to America with my best friend!

YESSSS, I’M GOING TO AMERICA!

Ever since we were in secondary school, from the age of at least 16/17 we would dream of going to America and traveling and now we FINALLY ARE!
We’ve decided to spend 3 glorious weeks (with a potential 4th) traveling across parts of California/Nevada/Utah and Idaho, visiting all the gorgeous national parks and the best part?!
It is just me and her, a proper girls road-trip! Driving it all ourselves/camping/shopping and eating till we can’t eat anymore?!

I just can’t contain my excitement.

Moving swiftly on…


Beef and 3 Bean Chilli.

img_4991

I have to be honest and probably a bit bias but… Chilli is one of the best dishes EVER. It makes me feel so happy but also so comforted, it reminds me of being at home! Chilli was always something my mum would cook for us and now, it’s just a staple dish of the week for me! The versatility of a Chilli is what makes it one of the greatest dishes known to man
#slightexaggeration

but it really does just go with everything! We have ours with a range of different things. Last week I used the left overs to make chilli dogs!
(essentially just a hotdog with chilli thrown over…)

Its also completely customisable and will still taste great regardless of what you change!

Don’t like heat? Just cut down on the chilli and spices!
Want more spice? Add enough spices to blow your head off
Don’t eat beef/meat? Swap out the beef mince for quorn or other meat alternative!


img_5003

When it comes down to the sauce, I tend to just open the spice cupboard and add everything spice wise! I use readily chopped chilli’s, that you can buy in a jar and what really adds a good punch of spice is the sauce from the mixed beans/kidney beans!

You can buy kidney beans in a chilli sauce already from most supermarkets! It really does help to just enhance flavours so give it a try! As it states, it’s also a 3 bean chilli. As well as the kidney beans I added a small tin of mixed taco beans in sauce!

One other quick thing, this dish is totally slimming world friendly! Since 2015 I have loosely followed a slimming world diet and this recipe would be syn free i believe!


I will leave the recipe down below. If you are new to my blog, please be sure to check out my other recipes and give us a follow! 🙂

Have a good weekend x

Serves: 4       Cook time: 1hr


Ingredients:

  • 500g mince beef (I use 5% lean beef)
  • 1 Onion, diced.
  • 1 yellow pepper, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 red chilli, chopped finely
  • Roughly 10 cherry tomatoes, halved. (optional)
  • 500ml passata.
  • 1 beef stock cube, crumbled
  • 2 tsp dried chilli flakes
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • Good pinch of salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tin of kidney beans in chilli sauce
  • 1 tin of mixed taco beans in chilli sauce (chilli sauce is optional)

 

Method:

  1. In a large pan, preferably a frying pan. Heat a little oil on a medium-high heat until hot. Throw in the onion/garlic and chopped chilli and fry for a few minutes. Once they have started to soften, add the beef mince and continue to fry until brown.
  2. Drain off any excess fat and add all the remaining ingredients. Give a good stir to ensure the spices are all mixed fully and bring to the boil.
  3. Reduce the heat a little bit and leave to simmer for around half an hour.
  4. You will want the sauce to have thickened slightly and then do the old taste test! If its not quite spicy enough.. add more!

    Serve with some rice and tortilla chips! Or however you want!

    img_4976

 

Lots of Love

Lizzie X

Leave a Reply

